Overcast

I’ve been a bit lost in my head lately. More than usual, anyway.

Some days it feels like the whole world is spinning along while I’m stuck in the same place. Did I mention my occasional anxiety attacks? I think I may have said something about that once.

This past week I’ve been struggling a bit about whether to write a post on anxiety or not. Part of me hesitates to do so because I don’t want to be a bummer for people who come across my blog. But another part thinks it’s silly, that I’m just being overdramatic about trivial things and trying to call it anxiety or depression. I’ve always hated it when someone’s response to depression of any sort is to say, “Just cheer up! It’s not so bad!”. And yet, that’s what I feel like saying to myself sometimes. That the dark cloud hovering over my head will vanish if I just wish really really hard.

But it doesn’t quite work out that way. So I lurch along from one day to the next, enjoying the small patches of sunshine that bring a smile to my face as I make my way through the storm.

 

3 thoughts on “Overcast

  1. Have you written “fiction” about it lately? That’s my latest tack. Can’t say it’s a cure-all, but it may yield something nice. Best to you. Just last week I managed to swallow down a full hyperventilating panic attack that crept over me as I drove my high school car pool. Sorry guys… we’ll need to pull over a second while I (wheeze…wheeze…)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oof…I’m so sorry to hear that. That sounds terrifying. I had an intense panic attack myself recently that I had thought about describing in the post, but it didn’t really seem to fit. I might do another post in a similar vein.

      I’ve never used fiction as a form of catharsis before. It’s something I’ve considered now and again, but I’m not sure how exactly to approach it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

