At A Loss For Words

As I had mentioned a few times in my last few posts, I’d taken on quite a few writing challenges the past couple of months. In September, I attempted to make my way through Writing 101 while also participating in the Story A Day Challenge on my fiction blog. In October, I created my own personal challenge for Halloween. When that was all done, I thought I’d take a short break from blogging before getting right back into it again. And now I’ve come to the horrifying realization that I have no idea what to write.

I’ve gotten too used to writing off a prompt that now I’m at a loss for my own topics. The easy thing to do would be to visit the Daily Prompt for ideas, but that just compounds the problem. This blog was supposed to be a space to let the random ramblings of my brain flow freely, but it seems that right now my brain is…empty? That can’t be a good thing.

My fictional muse also seems to have gone on vacation without giving notice. I was supposed to resume posting on my fiction blog last month, but that well is coming up dry too. So, for now, I’m just trying to figure out what to write next. Hopefully, both blogs will be back on track soon.

I’ll be putting up a festive post in the next couple of days (hoooopefully), and after that, I think I’ll pick things up again in the New Year.

2 thoughts on “At A Loss For Words

  1. Listen. We all go through that. Perhaps it’s the end of the year. Perhaps it’s the fact that Writing 101 helped in some ways but brought out our self-doubts in other ways. You are not alone. Believe me. You. Are. NOT. Alone.
    As Christmas draws near, I find myself just now becoming overwhelmed. Thoughts prevent me from being humorous–and I love to write funny shit. I need to take a step back and just regroup. At times, we all need to do that. Don’t be so hard on yourself. When a random thought enters your mind, write it down. It very well could become a blog entry. Keep cool. Enjoy the next few weeks and know you aren’t alone. Holiday Hugs to you! XOXOXO!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, thanks Catherine! Really, that really helps bring things back in perspective.

      It’s been a bit if a snowball effect. One small break turned into a long hiatus, and now I’m struggling to get back in the game. Guess all I can do is pick things back up in the New Year and keep chugging along, occasional lapses and all.

      Thank you again for the encouraging words. Holiday hugs right back atcha, and I hope you have an awesome New Year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

