Just Say No

Why won’t people take no for an answer? I don’t get it.

Whenever someone offers me something or makes some sort of suggestion that I’m not interested in, it’s never enough for me to say no. I either fall into a Q & A session about the reasons behind my refusal or people become more insistent that I should follow the suggestions anyway.

How about I said no to something because I just wasn’t interested in it? It’s not something that I wanted to do, and I couldn’t be bothered to expend the time or energy needed to do it. That’s all. If I refuse an idea you present to me, that doesn’t affect my opinion of you as a person, nor does it necessarily reflect on the integrity of the idea itself. It’s just not something I’m interested in.

Like when being offered food, for example. I find that some people just can’t let it go when you turn down an offer for food. Saying ‘I’m not hungry’, or even just a simple ‘no, thank you’ just doesn’t cut it. Either you have to eat the food, because it’s food, or there must be some good reason you’re not eating it. Do you not like it? Are you allergic? Are you on a diet? You’re probably on a diet. From now on, you’ll be known as the ‘health freak’. Because, come on, nobody turns down food just because they don’t want to eat it at that particular time. That’s crazy talk.

It’s exhausting, because there are times when I really don’t want to do anything except just sit down with a good book or spend a little time with my thoughts. If someone asks me if I want to go grab dinner or go watch a movie, I might say no. Just because. That doesn’t mean we can never have dinner together or watch a movie. It simply means I’m not interested on that day or at that time. But I have to justify it somehow, because simply declining won’t do me any good. There has to be a compelling reason for my refusal, otherwise I’ll just have to go out in order to not seem like an ass. And who knows, maybe, just maybe, I’ll end up enjoying it. Or maybe I won’t. That’s besides the point.

The point is, I shouldn’t have to go somewhere or do something (or, dammit, eat some random snack) if I don’t want to.

Just say no. Isn’t that enough?

10 thoughts on “Just Say No

  1. Thanks for speaking for all the introverts, book nerds or people who don’t know how to say no.

    These days, I’m old enough to say no to most things. And sometimes, I don’t bother with an excuse, just tell them the truth. Surprising how often that works.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

