Blogging 201: Off-Course

A little over a month ago, I had started the two-week Blogging 201 course. The first assignment required us to lay down three goals for ourselves that we hoped to meet in the near future. I had set three goals that I expected to achieve in the span of a month. Neither the time frame nor the goals themselves seemed unreasonable, and I thought I’d be sitting triumphant at the end, ready to push those goals even further.

So how did I do? Not well. Not well at all. Here are the goals:

  1. Double the number of followers on both my blogs by the end of August.
  2. Develop a story bank, mainly over the weekends, so I’m not scrambling to write and publish a new one every day.
  3. Create a weekly or monthly feature within the next 4 weeks that I can consistently deliver on.

And here’s what I’ve achieved so far:

  1. Followers:

    On this blog, I had about 85 followers a month ago. Currently, I have 101.
    On my fiction blog, I had about 145 followers. I now have 173.

    So not really close to double on either count. I’ve started participating in more writing evens of late, both as a means to keep flexing my writing muscles and as a way to build a stronger community. But still, progress is slower than I’d like. There’s something I’m missing here. On the plus side, both blog now have triple digit followers, so there’s that.

  2. I have not developed a story bank. It seemed like a solid plan, and a relatively easy one, but it hasn’t really panned out. I’ve got some stories in the pipeline, but I haven’t really written them yet. They’re more ideas, or concepts. For the most part, I still write stories as they come to me and publish them straight away. However, I have chosen to take a day off, to prevent idea overload. I think that’s been working for me.
  3. I have no idea what to do for a regular feature. I suppose I could run some sort of weekly flash fiction challenge, but that’s still undecided. I had two regular features on this blog when I started. There was a weekly humor piece that slowly turned into a monthly piece and was eventually buried. The sort of off-the-cuff humor I was going for was getting harder to write, and it seemed like I was repeating myself or relying too much on very silly jokes. The second was a weekly art showcase, where I published one of my little doodles. Those were consistently my lowest viewed posts, so I dropped that idea.

    Now I’m trying to figure out what to do for a feature on this blog, or if I even want to do one anymore. We’ll see what, if anything, develops.

So there you have it. Blogging 201. A short course full of some useful lessons that I haven’t quite been able to capitalize on. About the only worthwhile thing to come out of it is finding a theme and look for my fiction blog that I’m satisfied with. So there’s that.

8 thoughts on “Blogging 201: Off-Course

  1. I have actually also tried to make like a post bank to save some, but it just seems so unfair to not post it straight away. I know that, if I would re-read it after, say, two days, I would edit it a lot, because I would see all the little details I missed before, but cannot make myself do it.

    The same about posting at the same time always – I would like to do that, but it is nearly impossible in my life, at least it seems so. πŸ˜€

    Good luck with your next challenges and working on these ones!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!

      It’s easier with poems, because mine are generally very short, and it’s easy to write out a few and store them for later.

      But given the effort that goes into a story or general post, I pretty much need to post it right away.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wouldn’t stress about the numbers. Those of us that are here, are here and reading, and that is progress.

    For me the regular feature did help me to write more often and I got a few readers that look forward to it so that brings them around. Flash fiction is fun, also I’ve seen story-writing where you get others involved. I don’t know if something like that would interest you. Where you start a story, the next person adds on to it, and so forth.

    I hope you won’t give up on it πŸ™‚ maybe a break is a good idea but you should stick with what you wanted. August is almost over but September is also a good month ^_^ Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with @pleasant street, it is not about the numbers, it is about you, what you want to share, ideas I might not have I might learn it from you, take it easy and share happy or sad thoughts..☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

