Thursday Scribbles: Gumshoe

About six months ago, I had an idea for a detective story. It was going to be a noir-inspired tale of a down-on-his-luck detective who gets pulled into a mystery by an alluring female acquaintance. Bullets, broads and bad guys would collide as our cynical hero tracked down the murderer of a prominent public figure.

I had planned to write it in 8 chapters, weaving an enigmatic but not overly-tangled web. However, trying to plot it out was a time-consuming process, and I wasn’t too thrilled with the first chapter that I cranked out. The story was also meant to launch my blog, so the longer it took to finish, the longer the blog would have to wait. So I shelved the idea indefinitely and decided to get the blog moving instead. That decision seems to have worked out well.

Here’s a little teaser I’d written up for the story:

Rick Braddock is a standard-issue private eye with all the standard issues. Drunk, cynical, surly and broke, he’s become redundant in a dirty city that’s starting to get cleaned up. So when old friend Karen Sloane comes knocking on his door to ask for help in tracking down her missing fiancé, he jumps on it right away.

Things get more complicated when District Attorney James Calloway, Karen’s fiancé and the city’s leading crusader of justice, is found dead in his office, shot by two bullets from two different guns. In a crooked town, a man like that makes a lot of enemies, but which one decided to take care of business once and for all?

To find the answer, the disheveled detective and the distressed damsel will have to wade through the seedy world of warring mobsters and political corruption. But the real threat might lie closer than Braddock realizes, and his good friend could turn out be his worst enemy.  

Reading that again, I realize that part of my problem was also that I couldn’t decide on the tone of the story. Did I want it to be fun, with an exaggerated noir vibe? Or a serious mystery? Hopefully, whenever I get back to working on it, I’ll have figured that out.

I had also planned a series of illustrations to accompany the story. There were character portraits to familiarize my readers with the main ‘cast’, and there would be a ‘cover’ image for each chapter in the story. Doing all that would, of course, only prolong the whole process further, so I just did the portraits and called it a day.

Below are the main good guys of the story (or as good as you can get in a shady, corrupt town):

Sketchbook

First up is Rick Braddock, private eye. An ex-cop without much regard for authority, Braddock became a private investigator to seek out justice on his own terms. Business was good for a while, but the arrival of a new and promising D.A. had caused the well of crime to dry up. Reduced to chasing philandering husbands, Braddock’s ready to call it quits when a knock on his door leads to his most dangerous case yet.

Karen Sloane is the police commissioner’s headstrong daughter and had been a close friend of Braddock’s during his time on the force, though her father never approved of their friendship. They drifted apart after Braddock quit, and she wound up dating the new D.A. The two of them became tabloid darlings, especially after their engagement. When Karen’s crusading fiance’s goes missing, there’s only one man she can turn to for help, but she’s not going to like what she finds.

Commissioner Tom Sloane has seen a lot of ugliness during his time on the force, from bloodthirsty mobsters to crooked politicians. He still believes in the law, however, and is as hard-nosed as they come. He’s extremely protective of his daughter and never cared for her friendship with Braddock, whose disregard for regulations rubbed him the wrong way. Sloane’s already got his hands full trying to solver the murder of the new D.A. and really doesn’t need Braddock nosing around.

District Attorney James Calloway is the city’s golden boy. He had promised to wipe out crime during his campaign and it’s a promise he ‘s delivered, sending the world of organized crime into chaos. He’s made a lot of enemies on both sides of the law as a result, but his crusade hasn’t stopped. Until the day he disappears from his office, only to end up there that same evening with two bullet holes in his chest.

Up next: The Villains!

5 thoughts on “Thursday Scribbles: Gumshoe

  1. Wow – this is fantastic – did you do the illustrations yourself? I remember reading that you enjoy illustrating…If so, may I ask how you made them to look like that (i.e.. not pencil drawn) You’re very talented and I think you should pursue your story – it’s a great idea and your characters profiles are very intriguing and believable!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!

      I did do them myself, on my tablet. I’ve been experimenting with different digital art techniques, so that look was achieved using a few different kinds of brushes.

      I think I will get back to that story some time, now that I’ve developed a regular writing habit. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • They’re really creative! I’m not very techy – but I think its brilliant that you can create unique artwork like that on your tablet – I can just about type a coherent sentence on mine! (and even then its hit and miss) : / I had wondered if you’d done your own image for your blog since it fit so perfectly to your blog name and had an uncanny resemblance to you, but I couldn’t figure out how you managed to do it! Very cool 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

