Thursday Scribbles: Bird In A Tree

In addition to writing, I’m also very fond of drawing. Well, doodling. In fact, I was really more of a ‘drawer’ (I think ‘artist’ would be too generous) than a writer for most of my life. It’s only been in recent months that the writing part’s started coming to the fore.

So I figured I’d toss in a few of my random doodles onto the blog as well. I’m going to try and post something every Thursday, but we’ll see how that works out.

The idea of digital art is very appealing to me. I tend to get very messy when I draw, constantly erasing and re-drawing, which leaves a lot of smudges and generally results in stuff I’m not happy with. I was much happier drawing on MS Paint, but at the end of the day, it’s MS Paint. There’s only so much you can do with it.

Plus, using a mouse (and occasionally keyboard) to draw was just cumbersome for me. Kudos to all digital artists whose hands are steady enough to pull that off. So I stuck to drawing on paper, smudges and all. Until I got my first tablet.

Now that was a lot of fun. I could draw using a stylus, re-creating the feeling of drawing in a sketchbook without any of the mess. Awesome! Appropriately enough, one of the most recommended apps for that was Sketchbook, by Autodesk, which is what I use for all my drawing now (well, almost…it’s hard to give up pen and paper). When I first got it, I decided to mess around a little to get the hang of the various brushes and stuff available to me.

Starting us off on Thursday Scribbles is the product of that messing around: Bird In A Tree. It’s pretty self-explanatory, but still, a brief bit of background. I drew a bird in a tree, kinda liked it, and ended up repeating it three more times, ending up with a ‘four seasons’ theme. That was brief enough, I think. Oh, and I made a collage out of it.

Bird In A Tree

2 thoughts on “Thursday Scribbles: Bird In A Tree

Leave a Reply

