Infinity Dreams Award

Well, this is unexpected.

I’ve had a blog for over a year now that was sporadically updated and viewed with any sort of reglarity by maybe one other person. A few months ago, I decided to try out WordPress, creating a new blog and messing around with features. It was fun, much more fun than my old blogging platform, so I decided to stick with it. But I was still lazy about posting.

Until I came across Writing 101 and the daily prompts. That really fired up the writer in me and provided some much-needed inspiration. It’s been an amazing two weeks so far, telling stories both personal and fantastical. It’s been exciting for me to see so many people reading and commenting on my stories, and I’ve also read some amazing stuff that’s added to my inspiration. And now, to be nominated for a blogging award is just awesome.

A big, big thank you to TK at Beyond Beirut, whose reflections on life and her journey toward marriage are a joy to read. She’s got a very natural, conversational style that makes every blog post seem like a chat with an old friend, taking place over a cup of coffee. Check her out!

Now, the rules of the nomination state:

  • Thank the person who gave you this award, and include a link to their blog.
  • Next, select 10-15 blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
  • Nominate those 10-15 bloggers for the Award — you may include a link to this site.
  • Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things/facts about yourself.

The thank you is done, but I’ll throw that out again. Thanks, TK!

Next, we come to the Award for Most Awesome Blogger (or at least that’s what I’m calling it). And the nominees are (in no particular order):

Dear Dad

Beyond Beirut (I don’t think that’s against the rules)

All That Chatter

Lone

Scribbles to Compositions

Adoption =

MJChatters

Russell J Fellows

TJUnleashed

Healing To Live In Life’s Moments

Last item on the list, seven facts about me. Where to begin…

1. I’m kind of multilingual. I speak English and Hindi fluently. My family’s from Calcutta (or Kolkata, as it’s now known) and my mother tongue is Bengali, but it’s not my strongest language, and I often fill in the gaps with English words when speaking. Or just sorta mumble and hope the point got across.

I learned French in high school and was quite proficient at it, but a lack of practice since then has left me rusty. I also know bits and pieces of Italian and Spanish, which basically means if you strike up a conversation with me in either of those languages, I’ll say “Hi, how are you?” and then smile and nod the rest of the way.

2. I am an intensely private person. The idea of blogging about my life, sharing my story with the world is pretty new to me, and I think the relative anonymity of the internet helps. If I were asked to talk about these things in person, I’d probably find the nearest corner and retreat into it.

3. In a similar vein, I’m a man of few words. Spoken ones, anyway. Apparently, the one thing everyone remembers after meeting me is how quiet I am. But hey, it’s still something they remember, so it’s not all bad.

Writing lets me convey the ideas and messages that I’d constantly find myself tripping over in an actual conversation.

4. I never learned to ride a bicycle. This has always been the most surprising fact about me for people. I don’t know why. It seems every child except myself was whizzing around on bikes.

5. I like to draw. Calling myself an artist sounds a bit pompous, but I doodle from time to time. I love cartooning, and prefer drawing unusual looking people (or monsters) to regular folk.

The header image on my other blog, Tales of Unusual Strangeness, was done by me.

6. I’m a nerd. Simple as that. Comic books, video games, sci-fi, fantasy, I love it all. If you mention anything about Batman, I will listen, unless it’s to say Batman sucks, in which case our conversation is over. I also collect comic and video game related memorabilia, but I don’t have any themed pajamas, nor do I dress up in costume.

I did, however, visit the Middle East Film & Comic Con for the first time this year, and had a great time!

7. I’m a bit OCD. I know that word gets tossed around very flippantly nowadays, and I’m certainly not at a point where I spend hours washing my hands or adjusting my shoelaces, but there are certain little things that I get neurotic about.

Over the past two years, I’ve also become a bit of a hypochondriac, and worry about suffering from any disease or condition that I may have recently heard of. Fortunately, the logical part of my brain doesn’t let me get too carried away with that and recognizes my foolish fears for what they are.

And that’s about it, really.

I’m really happy to be part of the WordPress community, and delighted to have met so many wonderful writers in such a short span of time. Here’s to more amazing stories!

2 thoughts on “Infinity Dreams Award

  1. Congrats! I only just saw this and its very kind of you to say what you did about Beyond Beirut! 🙂 It’s been a lot of fun coming back to writing because of such a great community!

    Also, it’s great to meet you 🙂 I too didn’t know how to ride a bicycle until I lived in the Netherlands and absolutely had to. I was 21 when I finally learned.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s great to meet you too! 🙂

      Each day, I’m amazed at the people I’ve met because of this course, and how familiar they’ve already become!

      I have yet to get my bicycle ‘license’. Maybe it’ll be something to after retirement…

      Like

Leave a Reply

