Three Too Many

Well, it finally happened, though a bit earlier than I thought. I knew I’d come across one assignment that would have me thoroughly stumped, and here it is. I am, in some ways, a musically challenged person. I don’t listen to much music, I don’t have an MP3 player and I don’t sing in the shower. There are people, including some friends of mine, who put on music while doing chores of some sort, and that’s something that’s just never been my thing. I prefer to just focus on the task at hand or be left to my thoughts. Music either proves to be a distraction or ends up forgotten as I focus my mind elsewhere.

However, my life is not completely out of tune. I do listen to music now and again when I’m just relaxing or taking a break for some time. My musical tastes can be best described as…strnge. Eclectic seems rather an overused word, and perhaps gives me a bit more credit in terms of my preferences than is really warranted. I mostly love classical music, film and TV soundtracks, and there’s my guilty pleasure, 80’s pop. Actually, there’ nothing guilty about it – I love 80’s pop, with all its synthesizers and cheesy music. The thing is, music for me is just that – music. I’ve never really paid attention t lyrics, and I doubt I’d ever do well in any sort of karaoke competition. But a nice hummable tune is just fine by me. So, with a great deal of difficulty, here are the three most significant songs (or pieces of music) in my life.

First up is M.C.Hammer’s ‘Can’t Touch This’. It’s a very infectious song that always makes me feel good and want to dance, which is really something because I don’ dance. Ever. But ‘Can’t Touch This’ puts me in a great mood whenever I hear it. As a child, I was obsessed with it for a while, hearing it on a cnstant loop, but it’s never really gotten old for me.

Next is a somewhat odd choice and a bit of a cheat since it’s not technically one song, though there is a song in particular that resonates with me. The Game of Thrones soundtrack by Ramin Djawadi has many powerfull, orchestrall charged pieces that put me in a land of kings and queens past, in a never-ending struggle for power and control. Perhaps it’s because I have felt a sense of powerlessness in my life many times, so that power fantasy lives for me through music. There is one track in particular though, called ‘Kill Them All’. Despite the scary and serial killery name, it’s actually a very sad song. It plays after the death of a significant character and is used to highlight his family’s sorrow and sense of loss. When I lost my mother to cancer two years ago, this song got stuck in my head. It was the perfect embodiment of how I felt, something that could never be expressed in words.

The last song is the version of ‘A Little Help From My Friends’ used in the opening credits of The Wonder Years. The show was one that every teenager at the time could probably identify with, as it showed the growth of a young lad named Kevin Arnold, and the way his life and relationships changed during the transition to adulthood. The opening song captured this journey so well, and listening to it takes me back to school, slogging through subjects and long days, navigating my way through adolescence, and getting by with a little help from my friends.

So there you have it, a fre-written piece about the three most significant songs in my life. As many might agree, it’s hard to boil down life to just three songs (for me because I just don’t listen to that many), but because there are so many ever shifting emotions and events in our lives, like one long symphony, that it cannot be fully encapsulated without looking at the entire musical journey that we’ve all taken while growing up. Decades and generations of music have come to represent a different facet of us. But still, for a musically challenged person such as myself, trying to pick three was three too many.

Leave a Reply

